Around The World Blog Tour!

If you’re new to my blog then WELCOME! Near the end of August  I was invited by Naomi Vela (all the way from the beautiful land Down Under) to join her on an Around the World Blog Tour. Naomi and I are both on a Facebook Group called Aunt Pitty Pat’s Show and Tell. We think that’s where she came across a recent blog post I had shared with the group.  My poor blog has a measly NINE followers, so I thought joining in would be fun way to share my blog and maybe meet a few new friends. Naomi  is a very talented artist  who’s blog is called “Made by Nomes”! Isn’t that adorable? Having a German mother, I happen to love gnomes and all woodland things… In fact, I have a pinboard called Gnomes and Shrooms! I seem to recall that Naomi has a great affinity for owls! Why not check out her Around the World Blog Tour post HERE?

As part of the blog tour we are suppose to answer a few questions and link to three blogs for you to take enjoy in addition to our own. Sadly, I could only manage to get TWO fellow bloggers to commit in time to include them in my post! I’ll introduce you to each of them at the end of this post. Be sure you check back in with them on September 15th to see THEIR Around the World Blog Tour posts!

What am I working on?

IMG_20140830_123722My top priority project right now is for my upcoming Halloween-themed Blog HOP. I don’t want to reveal too much as I want to keep that post exciting and FRESH! However, as a thank you for stopping by today, I’ve given y’all a little SNEAK PEAK at some of the fabric I’m auditioning for that project, which I’m designing as I go.

BLOG HOP!

Halloween-themed blog HOP

Sign-up is still open for the Black Cat Crossing blog HOP, so I haven’t been assigned my exact date yet. All I know is that it will be some time between October 20th and 31st. Why not FOLLOW my blog to be sure you don’t miss it? In preparation for being able to actually do ANY sewing project, I’ve had to totally dig-out my sewing/craft room from under the mountain of STUFF that’s been piling up in there for months. Please see previous blog posts about my hoarding horror story… During the sorting, purging, and organizing I’ve discovered more than a few buried treasures, including numerous UFO’s!!! I’m not allowing myself to starting any NEW projects as I’m hoping to get a few of these wrapped up – maybe before the New Year!?!?!

When and why did I start my blog?

I’m not really sure exactly why I started this blog. I’ve always enjoyed writing and photography… Friends and family seem to enjoy keeping up what’s going out here “on the farm”, too. I mostly write about our critters and projects, but basically there is no specific theme to my blog. I guess I just blog about whatever we’re doing and hope that someone finds it interesting or inspiring!

How does my work differ from others of it’s genre?

My crafting is like me – erratic and eclectic! For instance, I don’t do just sewing projects. I do all sorts of things and sometimes combine them, too. I have ADHD and as a result I get distracted very easily; hence the numerous UFO’s I mentioned earlier! Hubby often jokes that I should just make kits, and I have to admit that to some degree he has a point. I’m great at coming up with an idea, maybe it even started with a pattern or something I saw on Facebook or Pinterest. I assemble all the various bits and accessories, put them all together in a tub or tote of some kind and then move on to the next idea! For “instant gratification” I really enjoy altered art and re-fashioning things from thrift store finds. Here are a few examples of my favorites:

 

1934683_1105552791486_7763928_n

Mabon Mother

Garden Whimsies!

pinkeep Collage

Pincushions

Homemade Hay Feeder

The woodland “doll” piece was for a fall challenge where we could only use natural/found objects in creating a doll. Mabon Mother is what I called this piece. I was quite pleased with how she turned out!

Who doesn’t love making Garden Whimsies!?!?! A couple of years ago I made several garden solar lights from recycled glassware. This lovely pair of large lamps were the pride of my garden until the goats got in there and knocked them over. I can probably fix/salvage them, but looking at them still breaks my heart, so they are tucked away in the corner of the back porch for now. The wind chimes are a set that I reconstructed after the original set fell apart. I loved the sweet sound of this set and so re-strung the chimes using nylon fishing line, a piece of drift wood and beach glass.

Oh, I also love making little pincushions, especially inserting them into unusual objects. Blame my mother…. her pincushion was made from a Lysol spray can lid! The shape of this little brass shoe ashtray just called out to me. I chose to make the pincushion part using fancy fabric in vibrant colors as it was made for a dear friend of mine who is a belly dancer. She sews all of her own costumes and loved this little gift. The little round pincushion is made from a soda bottle cap and left-over wool felt.

As I mentioned above, I’ve got goats… adorable, spoiled rotten goats! I found this old metal crate at a roadside sale and knew that it could be made into a hay feeder for them. Hubby helped me add the hinged lid, complete with “handle”. The lid keeps them from pulling the whole flake of hay right back out, which is exactly what was happening with the previous hay feeder! This one works really well, is easy to load and has cut down on wasted hay!

Why do I create what I do?

I create so many different things for around the house and around the farm. I guess most things I create are utilitarian in some way. Why shouldn’t the things we use every day should be beautiful as well as functional? I also hate to see waste, so that’s why I use so many reclaimed items in my projects, even using cast-off clothing in many of my sewing projects just like our fore-mothers did. Besides, I’m just too thrifty and dollar conscience to use $12 a yard fabric to make an apron or pot holders! I keep the better quality fabric for my quilts, table runners and wall hangings.

Sewer’s Chatelaine

In making this Sewer’s Chatelaine I re-purposed a denim vest that had lots of lovely pockets. I paired it with a soft plaid men’s shirt, using the collar for the neck piece, the pockets for more storage and then I lined the whole piece with it to make it more stable. I embellished it with a piece of vintage tatted lace at the neck and patch pockets, added a few mother-of-pearl buttons, and a small crocheted doily. I didn’t use a pattern, I just had this idea in my head on what I wanted it to DO and this was the result.IMG_20140830_132906

What do I hope to achieve in the near future?

Along with the project I’m designing and making for the aforementioned Black Cat Crossing Halloween-themed blog HOP, I’ve set a goal of having my entire sewing/craft room returned to “proper working order” by October 31st. I have to admit that it’s a pretty over whelming task, so I’ve been taking it in small steps, trying to work at just one corner or one flat surface at a time. After that there are the UFO’s that I mentioned, but in addition to them there are hundreds of projects waiting to actually be started! For instance, in putting like-with-like while I’ve been excavating my work space I’ve accumulated quite a stack of pre-printed projects and panels. I found two Halloween vests that are exactly the SAME panel. I think I’ll sew one up following the instructions and then create something totally different with the second one showing that you don’t always have to “follow the rules”!

 

Hmmmm…. Wonder if I can finish this Pumpkin Table Runner by the end of the month? I started it ages ago, back when I was still going down to Brownwood once a month for guild meetings, in fact. Instead of having a plain backing, my “plan” was to make Jack O’ Lanterns out of the same pattern and then make it REVERSIBLE! Check back next month to see if this UFO gets finished this year or not…

Other UFO’s include an adorable Horned Lizard I made a few years ago. I took a class given by the very talented Susan Cranshaw at the Abilene Quilter’s Guild Stars Over Abilene Regional Quilt Show. I finished the lizard itself, but then never did anything WITH it. If nothing else, he’d be cute on a shirt or tote bag! Speaking of tote bags, I think that’s what I was going to make with these Batik paper-pieced star blocks. I managed ONE block and then it got set aside! I found this finished block AND the remaining fabric while cleaning out my sewing/craft room.

UFO Collage

More UFO’s: Applique Horned Lizard, AKA: “Horny Toad” & a Paper-pieced star…

Now that y’all have read a bit about me, I’d like to introduce you to four very talented ladies:

These ladies will be doing their Around the World Blog Tour posts on Monday the 15th of September. Please make sure you pop over to their blogs before then and don’t forget to return on the day of their blog tour so you can see which bloggers they’ve tagged for you to check out!

I first met Doris Rice several years ago when I was making monthly treks down to Brownwood for the monthly Brownwood Quilter’s Guild meetings. Although the cost of gas, and other obligations, led to my dropping out of the guild, Doris and I have kept in contact via Facebook. Fortunately I still get to see her at local quilt shows, like Abeline and Brownwood, too! ‘Round these parts, Doris is known as the Quilting Queen and I believe you will agree that her her work is majestic!

Kelly Watson and I met on Facebook. As it happens, I can’t remember exactly WHERE on Facebook, because she and I have so very much in common, including our LOVE of sewing/crafting, Vintage VW’s, ol’ farmhouses and CHICKENS! Check out her blog called Kelly’s Primitive Friends and see all the fun and exciting things she creates.

Hope you’ve enjoyed your visit here and hope you’ll be back to see what I’ve been working on. To “make up” for only linking to TWO bloggers instead of three I’m working on a blog post about MY favorite blogs! There I’m linking to at least FIVE crafty bloggers that I follow…

Happy Sewing

Categories: Thrifty Stitches | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Around The World Blog Tour!

  1. Hi Hun, it was lovely to read about you…I must have undiagnosed adhd..or perhaps I have adchd (all the usual letters, but include a c for crafters!) I hope you get some more followers from this post, and rest assured, I’ll be back! BIg hugs my friend 🙂 P.S. Thank you for the lovely words you said about me xx

  2. I love your post on this blog… I keep telling you I want a Sewer’s Chatelaine from a re-purposed denim vest. LOL I will have to bug you for 6 months like you did me about a mug rug :O) Which you received BTW :O) I loved hearing about your farm and seeing some of your fun projects… Keep up the good job of posting and I will see you again :O)

  3. Pingback: A Few of MY favorite Blogs… | dancingmoonfarmsteadblog

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

