Official WICKED blog HOP!

Click here to learn more about the HOP itself!

YEAH! My very first blog HOP!!! I’m just SEW excited for all of you to be here and share this with me… This wickedly fun blog HOP  is inspired by the amazingly beautiful Black Cat Crossing line of fabric from Maywood Studio Fabrics. I’m absolutely IN LOVE with this fabric! Alas, my budget didn’t allow me to purchase any new fabric… so it’s a very good thing I’ve got a HUGE STASH of fabric, including lots of lovely fall/Halloween prints! I started by digging them ALL out to see what I had on hand. Then  I went over to Pinterest to check out my Pinboards for inspiration! My “FALL-oween” board is where I collect all my favorite ideas for fall and Halloween, but I also have numerous fall and Halloween quilts and quilt block ideas collected on my Quilts of Autumn Pinboard.

The beautiful and inspirational “Black Cat Crossing” fabric line from Maywood Studios!

Vintage inspired black cat wand by Crepeconfectionary on Etsy

Vintage inspired black cat wand by Crepeconfectionary on Etsy… Click HERE to go to her shop!

Batik Dresden Plate block that I made a few years ago!

Batik Dresden Plate block that I made a few years ago!

Because of the Black Cat Crossing fabric, I knew I wanted to create something special for this hop, something with not just a Halloween theme, but with a Black Cat theme, specifically!

My favorite Halloween cats are the nostalgic “scaredy cats”. You know, the vintage images of dashing and dandy fancy cats who wear hats or collars and have those wicked smiles! I found this adorable vintage-inspired Black Cat Wand by Crepeconfectionary on Etsy… it has the classic “scaredy cat” face I was looking for (just look at those EYES!) and the orange ruffle behind the Black Cat’s face reminded me of a Dresden Plate! I’d had made a Dresden Plate block years ago, so knew I could do it…

Here is the idea that popped into mind: Make a classic Dresden Plate block as the ruffle with a Black Cat face in place of it’s inner circle. I also have a Dresden Star pattern (click for a great tutorial), from Edyta Sitar, that I purchased some time ago, but had never attempted to make yet. I really thought it might work well with my idea of using a Dresden as the cat’s ruffled collar! Luckily I found the pattern last month while cleaning and organizing my craft room… You can purchase the Dresden Star Pattern and/or acrylic templates at Laundry Basket Quilts.new applicants Collage

I must admit that before beginning, I was a bit intimidated by the Dresden Star pattern,
but the instructions were very easy to follow! I think the large striped petals came out rather well. I played around with different colors for the ruffles. Originally I thought I’d use the Jack
O’Lantern print from Northcott, but the scale just didn’t work out. The orange I used simply disappeared! In the end, I went with green and purple for the smaller points of the Dresden Plate collar. The striped fabric worked out just as I had hoped it would, but it took some fussy cutting to get all the stripes “exact”! As you can see in the collage photo of their construction, I had to trim off a small bit of black from the back that was showing through as a dark shadow.stripes CollagePlate Collage

The center of the Dresden Plate, the Black Cat’s face, was made using a fabric called Shadow Play by Maywood Studio. I designed the cat’s face using images of some of my favorite vintage black cats. I had to be careful to make the face the right size to fit completely over the center of my completed Dresden Plate, too! I used Fusible Applique to attache the features to the face, but then I hand appliqued the face to the Dresden Plate. The pupils of the cat’s eyes are buttons! Last I hand stitched the whole thing to a 12.5″ square of the same purple fabric that I used in the small petals of the Dresden Star.

cat Collage

Here are the links to the other blogs in today’s hop:

On the Banks of Frog Creek

How Art You?

Cucki Stitching Cove

Dancing Moon Farmstead

Life in the Scrapatch

Their works are AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL, so please be sure to visit each of their blogs!!!

IMG_20141029_194857

Categories: Thrifty Stitches | 83 Comments

Post navigation

83 thoughts on “Official WICKED blog HOP!

Comment navigation

  1. Lori Morton

    What a clever idea! Goood job!

  2. Nice idea for that design! I have that pattern and have made that star before, it gives a great 3d look!

    • I thought that I had included LINKS to Edyta Sitar’s pattern, but apparently I had NOT. I went back and edited the post this morning so that there are now links to both her Dresden Star pattern and the acrylic templates, too!

  3. Oh My! What a lovely job on the dresden plate. Your striped are perfect!

  4. Joyce Carter

    Oh Wow! What a great idea! It really looks fantastic and your cat is very spooky. Great job.

  5. Wicked Wonderful Wow!!! How very clever of you to design and create this amazing Halloween Quilt. Thank you sew very much for participating and hopping. Creative Black Cat Crossing Bliss…

  6. Simply Fantastic Black Cat Block!!!!

  7. Like you, I adore the vintage Halloween cats! They are from my childhood so I suppose that makes ME vintage too!! Brings back such good memories when Trick or Treating was safe, fun, and a community affair. Walking with my boy cousins while Trick or Treating when I was about 5th grade was the biggest thrill of my life!! They were so protective of me. One Halloween we had a huge black cat walk across our sidewalk and of course those mischievous cousins of mine scared me to death with the horrors of a Black cat crossing your path. Love your Balck Cat and how it took me down memory lane.
    Gmama Jane

  8. Awesome! Love your fabric choices in the block. It looks wonderful.

  9. Jan

    Your cat block is too cool! Great job.

  10. evelyn

    OMG this is fabulous. There is a lot of work in getting this together. Love all the fabrics. The cats face is awesome, and I love buttons on a quilt.

  11. Julia P

    Your project is fabulous! Love how you made your dresden petals. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Great job and so glad you joined us for this year’s hop!!

  13. I can see a whole quilt of these. Love it. Your design is awesome.

  14. A very fun project. Love the button eyes. Happy Halloween!

  15. Ruth Stark

    Amazing how color choice changes things. Dresden never looked so stunning!

  16. Simply amazing, I love how used the dresden plate to give the middle an entirely new look. The stripes have been used in a really unique design. Really really a great block. Congrats.

  17. LJ

    What a grand interpretation! Your dresden star is gorgeous – the strip fabric was the best. Beautiful!

  18. Wow! This is just too much fun! What a wonderful vision you have!!!

  19. Fabulous! That cat seems to be leaping right out of the block. Very cool.

  20. Your kitty block is SEW creative! What great use of the stripes! Thanks for the inspiration.

  21. lixie

    Welcome to your first hop! Great project xx

  22. Karen Thurn

    Nice Dresden plate. Black cat is too scary for me…but wait, I guess it’s supposed to be.

  23. WOW…spooktacular quilt block. I love Edyta’s patterns, yours dresden plate is perfect to show the spooky cat face. Thanks for sharing your wicked Halloween project, you captured the vintage cat look…great job!!

Comment navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

